When troubleshooting issues with lessons and pathways, it is recommend doing so through the 'Planner' tab, as it displays all the lessons in one area and has indicators showing which lessons are shared and which lessons are not shared.
Changes Made to Lessons Overwrites Content from Lessons Earlier in the Week | The Same Lesson Appearing for All or Some Lessons on the Same Week
The system just displays the most recent lesson, so it may appear that there aren't enough lessons added for the week. This is not always apparent as it's not possible to see all the lessons for a week via the My day view. To check if all lessons have been added complete the following steps:
- Go to the Teaching Workspace > Timetable > My Day/My Classes/Traditional/Calendar
- Click on the 'Load Programme' icon for the class
- Select 'Planner'.
- To populate all the lessons, click on the 'Add All' button at the top of the page. If not wanting to add all the lessons then click on the 'ADD ANOTHER LESSON' underneath the lesson topic bar.
New Lessons, or New Clones of Lessons, are Only Added to the Current Pathway
Lessons are only added to the current pathway (that is the pathway assigned to the class the programme was accessed through). To see which classes are using the current pathway, hover over the number, to the furthermost right of the lesson topic bar.
If a lesson is required from another pathway it will need to be dragged onto that pathway using the steps below:
- Go to the Teaching Workspace > Timetable > My Day/My Classes/Traditional/Calendar.
- Click on the 'Load Programme' icon for the class the lesson needs to be added to.
- Go to the Lesson organiser sub-page.
- Opening the 'Unused lessons browser' (click on the black arrow in the top-right of the main work area).
- Click-drag the lesson onto the appropriate week.
Lessons Being Overwritten
This will occur if the lesson is shared. To check if the lesson is shared, look at the lesson topic bar. On the right-hand side there is number in grey text. Example: A '0' indicates the lesson is not shared, whereas a number indicates the lesson is shared (and the number of pathways it has been shared with). Hovering over the number displays the name of the pathways the lesson is shared with.
Note there are also numbers on the week bar and the topic bar from the furthermost right, this is just the number of weeks and lessons student attend.
If a 'Shared' lesson, as indicated above, is edited, then the change will show for all of the pathways that lesson belongs to. If a teacher does not want to share a lesson, they need only click the 'Clone' icon on the right-hand side of the lesson topic bar. This will create a copy of the lesson for them to use and place the original in the 'Unused Lessons'. This process will not affect other teachers as they are on different pathways. Changing the lesson order, under the 'Organise lessons' tab also will not affect other classes.